Julie A. Cunningham

Academic Advisor

Learning 2.0:A Colorado Conversation

CO LearningToday, I attended COLearning in Loveland, CO with a very intelligent and forward thinking group of 21st Century educators.

I began the morning listening to Melinda Miller in “A Principal’s Perpective: Leading Tech Integration with Regular People”, which I quickly realized was well beyond where I needed to be.  Using the CO Learning policy of “two feet”, I stood up, and walked into another session that was more suited to my learning needs- the “Got PD?” session with Michael Wacker & Ben Wilkoff.

Bud Hunt shared “Show & Tell for Everyone” in Session PD2.  He challenged us to, “Think of something educationally awesome.”…. then share that story, tell why it’s important and post a link to your “show and tell” on the Ethernet.  Homework!!!! The things Bud has to share about transparency really resonate with me.  And I’m going to have to read my own Twitter feed in order to remember other things from his session.

For the final formal session of the day, I chose “Vodcasting: From Capture to Distribution” by Brian Hatak.  This was probably the most practical session of the day for me, and I left encouraged to start creating simple podcasts tutorials for the computer lab.  It is exciting to see how educators like Brian are using technology to move learning beyond the classroom, and also to free up classroom time for learning.  He had software, hardware, and application suggestions for us- all of which are appreciated.

The Unconference Session of the day was on Elementary Education & Technology.  The group was primarily composed of people from my district, which enabled us to have some very specific discussions regarding software, firewalls, server issues, and general tech implementation issues.

I’m still thinking over these things, but wanted to post in the spirit of “it doesn’t have to be perfect” that Brian Hatak mentioned.

Comments are closed.